14-day quarantine for travel


UPDATE 10/20:  New Jersey‘s quarantine list has been updated, but this week comes with some complications as there are neighboring states that meet the criteria, but aren’t on the list. “As cases continue to rise in our state and across the nation, we highly discourage – to the extent practical – non-essential interstate travel,” says Governor Phil Murphy on his social media post. “Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and Delaware now meet the criteria for our travel advisory, but we recognize a 14-day quarantine is difficult given the interconnected nature of our region. We urge all New Jerseyans to remain vigilant and take all necessary precautions to stop the spread of COVID-19.”

Here are the 39 states and jurisdictions on the travel advisory list: Anyone arriving in New Jersey from Alabama, Alaska, Arizona (newly re-added), Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland (newly re-added), Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming will have to self-quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival in NJ. This goes for people who are visiting from out of state, and for NJ residents who are returning from these places.

The quarantine applies to anyone coming from a state where the positivity rate of testing is over 10% and on the rise rapidly.

During a joint appearance spearheaded by Cuomo earlier this summer, Murphy said: “We’ve been clobbered by this virus. No region in this country has paid a bigger price. This is a smart thing to do. We have taken our people, these three states, to hell and back.”

Murphy confirmed during a daily press conference earlier this summer that this “absolutely” applies to New Jersey residents who travel to these high-risk states. So if you head on vacation to one of these spots, when you return home you’ll be required to quarantine at home for 14 days. 

Each state will be responsible for the enforcement of the policy within their state, but the intention is to keep the positive infection rate in the tri-state area low and declining.


See What Our Readers Are Saying