/ Trenton

Finally, residents and legislators are in agreement: Central Jersey does exist. Today, Gov. Phil Murphy signed a law that says, at a minimum, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex and Somerset counties comprise the middle region of the state.

S3206 formally establishes North, Central and South Jersey, mostly for marketing and tourism purposes. The Division of Travel and Tourism will also be required to promote overnight stays.

“Today, we settle the decades-old debate once and for all: Central Jersey exists,” says Gov. Murphy. “The region has a rich history dating back to the American Revolution, with a legacy graced by historical figures like George Washington. And today, Central Jersey is home to some of the nation’s leading public universities and host to beautiful agricultural landscapes and activities for tourists to immerse themselves in. We eagerly anticipate the opportunity to share these wonders with the world.”

North Jersey contains Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Morris, Passaic, Sussex, Union and Warren counties. South Jersey is composed of Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Monmouth, Ocean and Salem counties. We’re not so sure we agree with all of this and would list Monmouth County squarely in Central NJ!

From our perspective, Jerseyites should ask themselves: Do you root for the Jets or Giants and Yankees or Mets, or the Phillies and Eagles? Is your favorite food pizza or cheesesteak? Would you prefer a trip to NYC or Philly? Broadway or Atlantic City? One thing I think we can all agree on no matter which part of the state you live in:  the Jersey Shore is the place to be all summer long.

Read More:
YES! Legislators Decide Central Jersey Does Exist
Quintessential New Jersey: Debating Central Jersey