The LPGA is the longest-running women’s sports organization in the world. LPGA players and staff embody the spirit of the Founders and encourage others to live with the same passion, pride, and perseverance. With such a title comes great responsibility. The words “Act like a Founder” greet all that enter the headquarters of the LPGA. The aged script and simple message convey the history and pride of all who have come before, and the amazing road ahead. The Cognizant Founders Cup embodies all that the LPGA motto stands for. The LPGA’s job is to grow the game of golf and to leave the game better than they found it.

The LPGA launched in 1950 thanks to the creativity, drive and passion of 13 strong women:
Alice Bauer
Marlene Bauer Hagge
Patty Berg
Bettye Danoff
Helen Dettweiler
Helen Hicks
Opal Hill
Betty Jameson
Sally Sessions
Marilynn Smith
Shirley Spork
Louise Suggs
Babe Zaharias

The Founders Cup was created to pay tribute to those that blazed the trail for women’s golf. Audiences around the world tune in over four days to see the best of the LPGA thanks to coverage provided by Golf Channel and global cable partners.


Eight past champions include: Karrie Webb (2011, 2014) | Yani Tseng 2012 | Stacy Lewis 2013 | Hyo Joo Kim 2015 | Sei Young Kim 2016 | Anna Nordqvist 2017 | Inbee Park 2018 | Jin-Young Ko 2019.

The inaugural event played for $1 million, but all players donated their winnings to various charities, among them LPGA*USGA Girls Golf. This is now the largest non-major purse on the LPGA Tour. The Founders Cup raises funds for the LPGA Foundation which supports the worldwide non-profit LPGA*USGA Girls Golf program, with 90,000 active members in more than 500 locations throughout the U.S., and overseas.